Member of the Year

1988 Outstanding Member of the Year – Dan Meyer

Dec 24, 2019 | Member of the Year

In 1984 Dan & Sue Meyer purchased Kay Parks Auto Body and renamed it Kay Parks/Dan Meyer Auto Rebuild.

They joined ASA Washington on March 2, 1985, and have been very involved and responsible for much of the success of our association over the past thirty years.

Dan & Sue owned and operated their business for thirty one years, creating a state of the art facility and one of the most respected and admired collision repair businesses in our state.

They have both served  many rolls of leadership with ASA and the automotive industry.   Sue served leadership positions with the Ascettes on the ASA unit, state, and national levels.

Dan served several positions of leadership in the Pierce County unit, including the collision division chairman, vice president, and president,

At the ASA state level, he served as collision division chairman, treasurer, vice president, and ASA-WA State President in 1994-1995.

Their business earned the designation of a 20 year I-CAR Gold Class certified collision shop.  Dan was always a very strong supporter of industry training.

For several years Dan served on the apprenticeship committee and later became Chairman of the Machinist Union Apprenticeship Committee.

Dan has always shown a concern for our industry and has been involved with the Department of Ecology to assist in improving our industry environment.  Kay Parks/Dan Meyer was the first business in Pierce County to become a certified “Five Star” EnviroStar business through the Department of Ecology.

The Tacoma Pierce County Chamber’s first annual Tahoma Environmental Award was presented to Kay Parks/Dan Meyer for excellence in groundwater protection on earth day.

So many times Dan was assisting other ASA members in need of business guidance and direction.  We have to feel proud, not only for their dedication to our association, but for the many years of friendship and fond memories with Dan & Sue.  We look forward to sharing many more.

In 1988 Dan received the ”Outstanding Member of The Year” award, the most prestigious award any ASA member can receive.